Los Angeles Film Critics Awards: ‘Spotlight’ and ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ Win

As many of you already know, Oscar season has begun and critics have started handing out their best of the year prizes. Last week, we had NBR and New York Film Critics announce their awards. Today, one of the major film critics group LAFCA (Los Angeles Film Critics Assocaition) announces their awards. And as I have been saying all along, ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ is making a strong comeback, and it looking more and more that it will also find a place among the Best Picture nominees at the Oscars — and deservedly so. Apart from ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’s’ strong showing, one other name that has surprised many by dominating critics is that of Kristen Stewart who finished runner-up at LAFCA, but has already won NYFCC and Boston critics award for Best Supporting Actress. I am pretty sure there is plenty more to come her way. Whether she actually finds a place among Oscar nominees, we will have to wait and see.

Here is the full list of winners at LAFCA:

BEST PITCURE, Winner: “Spotlight”
Runner-up: “Mad Max: Fury Road”
BEST DIRECTOR, Winner: George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road.”
Runner-up: Todd Haynes, “Carol.”
BEST ACTOR, Winner: Michael Fassbender, “Steve Jobs.”
Runner-up: Géza Röhrig, “Son of Saul.”
BEST ACTRESS, Winner: Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”
Runner-up: Saoirse Ranon, “Brooklyn”
BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS, Winner: Alicia Vikander, “Ex Machina.”
Runner-up: Kristen Stewart, “Clouds of Sils Maria.”
BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR, Winner: Michael Shannon, “99 Homes.”
Runner-up: Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies.”
BEST SCREENPLAY, Winner: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight.”
Runner-up: Charlie Kaufman, “Anomalisa.”
BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY, Winner: John Seale, “Mad Max: Fury Road.”
Runner-up: Edward Lachman, “Carol.”
BEST ANIMATION, Winner: “Anomalisa.”
Runner-up: “Inside Out.”
Runner-up: “The Look of Silence.”
BEST EDITING, Winner: Hank Corwin, “The Big Short.”
Runner-up: Margaret Sixel, “Mad Max: Fury Road.”
BEST MUSIC SCORE, Winner: Carter Burwell, “Anomalisa” and “Carol.”
Runner-up: Ennio Morricone, “The Hateful Eight.”
BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN, Winner: Colin Gibson, “Mad Max: Fury Road.”