The Flash Season 7: Everything You Need to Know

The Flash Season 6 Episode 17

‘The Flash’, which is created as a spin-off to ‘Arrow‘, is a superhero tv series that airs on The CW. Developed by Greg Berlanti, Andrew Kreisberg, and Geoff Johns, the first season of the show opened to extremely good reviews. Critics praised the drama for its concept, which satisfies long-term fans of the titular character, as well as, novices. The series was also lauded for its well-paced storylines, strong performances, and for staying true to its source material. Moreover, it has spanned six remarkable seasons to date — which is a standing testimony to its popularity. So the next question that naturally strikes is: will there be a ‘The Flash’ season 7? Let’s find out.

The Flash Season 7 Release Date: When Will it Premiere?

‘The Flash’ season 6 premiered on October 8, 2019, on The CW. When the season was commissioned in January 2019, it had received an order of 22 episodes. But filming had to be suspended in March 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Two episodes could not be shot and one remained unaired. Hence, the season was cut short by 3 episodes and it ended with its 19th episode on May 12, 2020.

Well, the sixth edition might have met with an abrupt end. But this is not the end of our favorite superhero! ‘The Flash’ was already renewed for its seventh outing in January 2020. While this means that a new season is already underway, we might have to wait some time to see the show back on-screen. It’s highly unlikely that the series will return to its regular October slot this year. Due to the ongoing health crisis, production for the seventh installment will move to a later date. In all probability, ‘The Flash’ season 7 should release sometime in 2021.

The Flash Season 7 Cast: Who Can be in it?

In season 6, the lead cast of ‘The Flash’ consists of Grant Gustin as Barry Allen aka The Flash, Candice Patton as Iris West-Allen, Danielle Panabaker as Caitlin Snow aka Frost, Carlos Valdes as Cisco Ramon aka Vibe and Echo, Hartley Sawyer as Ralph Dibny aka Elongated Man, Danielle Nicolet as Cecile Horton, LaMonica Garrett as Mar Novu aka Monitor and Anti-Monitor, Efrat Dor as Eva McCulloch, Tom Cavanagh as Nash Wells aka Pariah, and Jesse L. Martin as Joe West.

While all of the above main cast members are expected to return for season 7, Brandon McKnight (who joined the show in season 6 in the recurring role of Chester P. Runk) will become a series regular in the next outing. Additionally, Kayla Compton (Allegra Garcia) will be promoted from a recurring star to one of the lead cast members in the upcoming installment.

The Flash Season 7 Plot: What Can it be About?

In the season 6 finale, titled ‘Success Is Assured’, Barry decides to help Iris escape from the Mirrorverse. Eva McCulloch, who happens to be the new Mirror Master, is already in the real world and is planning revenge against her husband Joseph Carver. On the other hand, Ralph tries to stop Sue from making a life-threatening mistake.

Since the 19th episode serves as a make-shift finale, it does not cover all the intended storylines from the sixth season. It, in fact, ends on a cliffhanger. There are some incomplete plot arcs that may be incorporated in season 7 whenever production resumes. Of course, another major development in the next outing will be Eva’s transformation — as she suits up to be the Mirror Master.

Read More: Best Shows Like The Flash