The Netflix Drama Anne With an E Wins Big at Canadian Screen Awards

Anne with an E (2017 - )

The Netflix drama ‘Anne With an E‘ won big at the Canadian Screen Awards. The CBC drama series bagged the best TV drama award, while comedies ‘Letterkenny’ and ‘Schitt’s Creek’ also emerged as high-flyers.

‘Anne With an E’, which is based on the classic Anne of Green Gables book series, also won the best drama actress trophy for Amybeth McNulty. The French coming-of-age drama ‘A Colony,’ directed by Genevieve Dulude-De Celles, took home the best movie honor.

The Eugene Levy and Catherine O’Hara star vehicle, ‘Schitt’s Creek’ was named the best TV comedy and while O’Hara bagged the best comedy actress prize. ‘Anne With an E’ and ‘Schitt’s Creek’ grabbed 15 nominations each, a proud moment for the Netflix-CBC front.

Billy Campbell raised the best limited TV drama actor trophy for his stunning performance in the Hulu murder mystery, ‘Cardinal.’ British actress Dominique Provost-Chalkley won the audience award for her portrayal of Waverly Earp in the Syfy series ‘Wynonna Earp.’ Canadian Indian filmmaker, Deepa Mehta was presented with this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Created by Moira Walley-Beckett, ‘Anne With an E’ garnered critical acclaim and positive reviews from viewers alike when its two seasons were aired on Netflix. The coming-of-age drama features Amybeth McNulty, Geraldine James, R.H. Thomson, Lucas Jade Zumann, and Dalila Bela in important roles.

The series follows a 13-year-old orphaned girl named Anne. Set in the late 1890s, ‘Anne’ chronicles Anne’s abusive childhood in various orphanages and strange households. Then, she is sent to live with the old woman and her brother by mistake.

Anne changes the two-member family’s life like never before with her vibrancy and empathy. But her life catapults when new challenges and threats emerge from unexpected corners. ‘Anne with an E’ is a heartbreaking story of a desperate teen’s struggle for love and a place in the world. The first two seasons of the series are available on Netflix for streaming. CBC has commissioned a third season, and according to reports, the renewal episodes feature Anne as a 16-year-old with her share of romantic adventures and dramatic discoveries as a young woman-to-be.

The 7th annual Canadian Screen Awards was held at Sony Center for the Performing Arts in Toronto. Canada’s biggest stars in movies and television are seen walked on the red carpet before the gala of honoring excellence in Canadian film and television.

Here is the complete list of winners.


Best Dramatic Series

WINNER: “Anne with an E”
“Bad Blood”
“Blood and Water”
“Frankie Drake Mysteries”

Best Comedy Series

“Mr. D”
WINNER: “Schitt’s Creek”
“Second Jen”
“Workin’ Moms”

Best Reality/Competition Program or Series

“Big Brother Canada”
“Canada’s Smartest Person Junior”
“Knock Knock Ghost”
“MasterChef Canada”
WINNER: “The Amazing Race Canada”

Best Lead Actor, Comedy

WINNER: Jared Keeso, “Letterkenny”
Jason Priestley, “Private Eyes”
Gerry Dee, “Mr. D”
Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”
Eugene Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”

Best Lead Actor, Drama

WINNER: Kim Coates, “Bad Blood”
Jerry O’Connell, “Carter”
Aaron Ashmore, “Killjoys”
Yannick Bisson, “Murdoch Mysteries”
Eric McCormack, “Travelers”

Best Lead Actor, Drama Program or Limited Series

Alan Hawco, “Caught”
Fab Filippo, “Save Me”
WINNER: Billy Campbell, “Cardinal: Blackfly Season”
Mark McKinney, “A Christmas Fury”

Best Lead Actress, Comedy

Cindy Sampson, “Private Eyes”
Annie Murphy, “Schitt’s Creek”
WINNER: Catherine O’Hara, “Schitt’s Creek”
Catherine Reitman, “Workin’ Moms”
Dani Kind, “Workin’ Moms”

Best Lead Actress, Drama

WINNER: Amybeth McNulty, “Anne with an E”
Caroline Dhavernas, “Mary Kills People”
Wendy Crewson, “The Detail”
Melanie Scrofano, “Wynonna Earp”
Kristin Kreuk, “Burden of Proof”

Best Lead Actress, Drama Program or Limited Series

Tori Anderson, “Caught”
Amy Matysio, “Save Me”
WINNER: Karine Vanasse, “Cardinal: Blackfly Season”
Mary Walsh, “A Christmas Fury”

Best Writing, Comedy

Daniel Levy, “Schitt’s Creek”
WINNER: Jared Keeso, Jacob Tierney, “Letterkenny”
JP Tremblay, Mike Smith, Robb Wells, “Trailer Park Boys”
Cynthia Knight, “Mohawk Girls”
Andrew Appelle, Robert Hyland, Kurt Robb, Jay McCarrol, Matthew Miller, Jared Raab, “Nirvanna The Band: The Show”


Best Motion Picture

WINNER: “The Colony”
“Family First”
“Just a Breath Away”
“The Great Darkened Days”

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Michael Rowe, “Crown and Anchor”
WINNER: Theodore Pellerin, “Family First”
Martin Dubreuil, “The Great Darkened Days”
Paul Nutarariaq, “The Grizzlies”
Brandon Oakes, “Through Black Spruce”

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

WINNER: Emilie Bierre, “A Colony”
Kate Moyer, “Our House”
Romane Denis, “Slut in a Good Way”
Sarah Gadon, “The Great Darkened Days”
Anna Lambe, “The Grizzlies”

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary Award

“Letter From Masanjia”
“Immaculate Memories: The Uncluttered Worlds of Christopher Pratt”
“What Walaa Wants”
“The Devil’s Share/La Part du Diable”
WINNER: “Anthropocene: The Human Epoch”

Achievement in Direction

Sophie Dupuis, “Family First”
WINNER: Jasmin Mozaffari, “Firecrackers”
Genevieve Dulude-De Celles, “A Colony”
Maxime Giroux, “Great Darkened Days/La Grande Noirceur”
Daniel Roby, “Just a Breath Away/Dans la Brume”