That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime Season 1: Review, Recap, Characters, Plot

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime (also known as Tensei Shitara Suraimu Datta Ken) is a Japanese fantasy anime television series which is based on a light novel series of the same name. Written by Fuse and illustrated by Mitz Vah, the light novel series began serialization on a user-generated novel publishing website called Shōsetsuka ni Narō in 2013 before it was acquired by Micro Magazine, which started publishing the story in volumes, starting May 30, 2014. Till date, fourteen volumes of the light novel series has been published and it remains popular as ever.

In 2015, a manga adaptation illustrated by Taiki Kawakami began serialization in the Shounen Sirius magazine, and three years later, a Japanese animation studio called 8bit announced plans to adapt the series into an anime television series. Subsequently, Season 1 of That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime made its way to viewers’ screens on October 2, 2018, and it was deemed to be a success. 

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime Season 1 Release Date: When did it premiere?

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime season 1, consisting of 24 episodes, premiered on October 2, 2018 and ran till March 29, 2019. It attracted hundreds of thousands of viewers in Japan and was a highly rated show. Subsequently, 8bit announced that it would be releasing two original video animation (OVA) special episodes, and the first OVA special premiered on July 9, 2019. The second OVA special is slated to be released sometime in December 2019. Given the popularity of the show, it was unsurprising when 8bit, on March 23, 2019, officially announced that the show would be making a return with That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime season 2

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime English Dub:

For those who like watching anime shows in English, the good news is that That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime has a great English dub which was made keeping the show’s international audience in mind. If you want to watch the show in English, you can find dubbed episodes on Crunchyroll.

Read more in anime preview: How Not to Summon a Demon Lord

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime Plot:

As the name of the show suggests That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime has a bizarre plot.

The story starts off by bringing to viewers the life of 37-year-old Satoru Mikami. Being a typical corporate worker Satoru enjoys his monotonous existence. His only grievance is that he has never had a girlfriend in his life. While searching for love, Satoru has a casual encounter with a colleague, but his joy is cut short when he is attacked by an unknown assailant in the midst of the encounter and stabbed. However, things take a bizarre turn and while Satoru is bleeding out, he hears a voice muttering out commands in a strange, incomprehensible language.

Later, instead of dying, Satoru regains consciousness, but to his horror, he finds that he has been reincarnated as a goop of slime in an unfamiliar realm. Yet, Satoru is not just any goop of slime and he finds that he has the power to devour anything and mimic its appearance and abilities. After familiarizing himself with his new existence, Satoru encounters a Catastrophe-level monster named “Storm Dragon” Verudora and discovers that Verudora has been sealed away for the past 300 years for burning down a town. However, instead of being intimidated, Satoru befriends Verudora and agrees to help him break the seal. In return, Verudora grants Satoru divine protection and bestows upon him the name Rimuru Tempest.

Now liberated from the banality of his past life, Rimuru embarks upon an epic quest and the show follows him as his actions send ripples across the new realm and start altering his fate.

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime Characters:

While That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime has a long list of characters, there are only a few characters who are central to the plot of the show. Below, we’ve provided you with brief backgrounds on each of the important characters in the show.


Satoru Mikami / Rimuru Tempest: The main protagonist of the show, Satoru is a 37-year-old corporate worker living a banal life. While having a casual encounter with one of his colleagues, he gets stabbed by an unknown assailant and dies, only to be reincarnated as a goop of slime in a new, fantastical realm. From being the lowest creature in the food chain, Satoru rises up the ranks after he aids a Catastrophe-level monster – a dragon named Verudora Tempest – break his seal and escape. Subsequently, Verudora grants Satoru divine protection and bestows upon him the name of Rimuru Tempest. As the show progresses, Rimuru breaks free of the shackles of his banal existence, and becomes the Founder and King of the city of Tempest. While Rimuru starts off as an easy-going guy who believes in pacifism, his benevolent nature takes a dark turn when he slowly transforms into an Awakened Demon Lord. From this point on, Rimuru’s pacifist gradually becomes less dominant and his actions take on a malevolent tone. As far as Rimuru’s powers are concerned, he has several abilities, magical or otherwise, and is one of the most powerful characters in the show.

Verudora Tempest: An important supporting character in the show, Verudora is the youngest sibling among the Four Strongest Dragon-kin and possesses powers which far surpass most characters in the show. In fact, Verudora is regarded to be a Catastrophe-level monster. In spite of his intimidating appearance and powers, he forges a friendship with Satoru and grants him divine protection and tremendous powers.

Read more in anime preview: Boarding School Juliet