Thor, Black Widow, Doctor Strange in Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase 4

After one of the most successful years at the box office and an emotional farewell to the Phase 3 superheroes with ‘Avengers: Endgame,’ Marvel has unveiled its plans for the upcoming Phase 4 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. At the Comic-Con presentation on Saturday, Marvel Studios revealed a magnificent lineup of its post-Endgame film slate. The list of projects in the pipeline hints at a celebration of diversity while keeping an eye on the core values of the coveted universe.

The hotly-anticipated Phase 4 will kick-start with in next May with the standalone ‘Black Widow‘ flick starring Scarlett Johansson. Angelina Jolie, Salma Hayek, Kumail Nanjiani, and Lauren Ridloff starrer ‘The Eternals‘ will follow it in 2020. Third flick in line, ‘Shang-Chi and The Legend of the Ten Rings‘ is scheduled for a February 2021 release. The long-awaited film stars Simu Liu as the maverick Kung Fu master along with Tony Leung and Awkwafina.

In 2012, Natalie Portman will be seen donning the iconic character of Thor, Goddess of Thunder in the fourth ‘Thor’ standalone movie ‘Thor: Love and Thunder.’ Chris Hemsworth and Tessa Thompson will also return for their respective roles as Thor and Valkyrie. Marvel also announced a reboot of the ‘Blade‘ franchise with Academy Award winner Mahershala Ali as the titular vampire hunter.

To the sheer glee of ‘Doctor Strange‘ admirers, the Studio unveiled its plans to release the upcoming sequel ‘Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness‘ on 7 May, 2021. Scott Derrickson is directing the flick with Benedict Cumberbatch and Elizabeth Olsen reprising their respective roles.

The two unexpected turns in the massive announcement were the introduction of a female Thor and re-inventing ‘Doctor Strange’ as a horror-comedy, first of its kind from the Marvel Cinematic Universe. According to reports, Loki and Black Widow will also be getting their standalone TV series as well for Disney+, Disney’s upcoming streaming platform. A new animated series titled ‘What If…?’ is also in the pipeline.

Phase 3 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe officially ended this summer with ‘Spider-Man: Far From Home‘ and ‘Avengers: Endgame,’ with the whole band of superheroes becoming a nostalgic cinematic memory of a decade. Check out the list major films lineup in the Marvel Cinematic Universe below (Release dates in brackets).

  • Black Widow (May 1, 2020)
  • Falcon and the Winter Soldier (Fall 2020)
  • The Eternals (November 6, 2020)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (February 12, 2021)
  • WandaVision (Spring, 2021)
  • Doctor Strange and the Multiverse of Madness (May 7, 2021)
  • Loki (Spring, 2021)
  • What If (Summer, 2021)
  • Hawkeye (Fall, 2021)
  • Thor: Love and Thunder (November 5, 2021).

Cover Image Courtesy: Marvel